Register now for the next webinar (26.06.):
Revolution of the purchasing department at DOYMA

Future-proof procurement through data-driven decisions and automation of manual tasks

published on
30.11.2023

ME MOBIL ELEKTRONIK GMBH

‍

πŸ— Industry: development and production of complex control and steering systems for mobile machines, commercial and special vehicles

‍

πŸ—Ί Company headquarters: Langenbrettach (Baden-WΓΌrttemberg)

‍

🧍 Employees: ~ 130

‍

πŸ‘₯ Employees in procurement: 5 part-time employees

‍

πŸ’Ά Turnover ~ € 25 million per year

‍

🧰 Procurement volume: ~ € 10 million per year

‍

‍

ME MOBIL ELEKTRONIK GMBH, ME for short, is an internationally active, family-owned high-tech company that has been developing and producing complex control systems for renowned manufacturers of mobile machinery, commercial and special vehicles since 1972. Since then, ME has been setting new standards through innovative spirit, commitment and creativity and, true to the motto "Steer-by-Wire", is a pioneer and world market leader for electronic steering systems in terms of diversity and know-how.

‍

‍

Download success story

Challenge:

‍

For quite some time, the topic of procurement digitization has played a role at ME, so that at the beginning of 2019 ME started looking for a solution for procurement that, on the one hand, transparently displays all numbers, data and facts in a procurement cockpit and, on the other hand, streamlines and digitizes lengthy strategic processes as well as workflows. At that time, ME was using proALPHA as an ERP system, with which it was only possible to process the operative procurement activities on the system side. However, strategic procurement was not supported by the system at all: manual and Excel-based data evaluations, tedious and MS Office-based organizational processes with suppliers as well as complex price evaluations were part of the daily business. For example, it was not possible for ME to make reliable evaluations of articles, suppliers and categories or to view price developments.

‍

With almost 400 RfQs sent per year, consolidating the quotes and evaluating them was very time-consuming and cost the entire procurement team several days per month. Similarly, ME spent about two to three days a month working with IT to generate data exports from ERP, prepare the data, and analyze it using Excel. It was not uncommon for data errors and inconsistencies to occur, and the evaluations had to be constantly checked and could only generate manageable added value. Especially as a comparatively small procurement organization, with a procurement volume of 10 million € and 5 part-time employees, the entire supplier and document management of the historically grown supplier portfolio with over 400 active suppliers was a challenge that was almost impossible to master. Preparing regular supplier meetings, obtaining supplier self-disclosures, and querying ISO certifications by mail and MS Word dominated daily business and took up about three days per month.

‍

For these reasons, and especially in times of macroeconomic challenges such as material shortages and rising commodity prices, the desire for system-based procurement support has been strong. However, the search for a procurement software has proved disappointing in many places, characterized by lengthy and costly implementation processes and limited added value. Often, these were isolated solutions that could only partially satisfy the need for software that unites the process and data worlds. Often, only gradual improvements could be achieved after the initial implementation on the one hand, and on the other hand, further adjustments were often necessary with IT support. Employees also struggled with the possible alternatives and longed for an intuitive and user-friendly solution to perform price and data evaluations. For example, the operation of the company-wide data evaluation tool required extensive and intensive programming skills that could not be learned along the way.

‍

Especially as a growing, small mid-sized company and pioneer in electronic steering systems, ME did not have time for such resource-intensive and lengthy implementations.

‍

In short, the needs of a medium-sized industrial company were inadequately covered by the established software providers. Not with Tacto.

‍

3 needs or challenges that ME wanted to overcome

‍

‍

Create data and output transparency on procurement activities - without IT resources as well as Excel-based and error-prone data analyses

‍

‍

‍

Automate manual, operational activities in procurement: From supplier onboarding to document management and compliance requests (REACH).

‍

‍

‍

System-side support, tailored to the needs of a medium-sized industrial company, combining data and process worlds

‍

‍

‍

‍

Solution

‍

In the jungle of solutions, ME finally became aware of Tacto - the procurement software for industrial medium-sized companies - through the recommendation of HUBTEX. The positive experiences as well as the first insights quickly convinced ME that Tacto is the solution for digitalization as well as unification of the data and process world in medium-sized industrial procurement.

‍

"We were particularly impressed by Tacto's philosophy and approach of developing the software close to day-to-day operations and in close exchange with buyers from medium-sized businesses. The opportunity to help shape the software as a customer in a kind of co-innovation is unique."

‍

Within a very short time after contacting Tacto and only two weeks after providing the data from the ERP, ME was able to transparently track price developments and delivery times in the procurement cockpit. In day-to-day business, Tacto was able to quickly add value and digitize relevant processes, as the software is tailored precisely to the needs of medium-sized industrial procurement and works hand-in-hand with ME's procurement processes.

‍

"We were particularly impressed by the quick and straightforward implementation, as well as the engagement of the employees from day one. Employees proactively request access to the software and are highly satisfied with its usability."

‍

Thanks to its intuitive usability, Tacto has become a valued tool in the day-to-day business of employees, as it provides the appropriate evaluations and thus reduces complexity in procurement. Resources that would have been spent on manual evaluations can now be used for strategic procurement, allowing measures to be taken and well-founded decisions to be made. For example, it is easier to prepare for supplier meetings because, among other things, developments in suppliers, delivery times, materials and categories can be tracked directly. The transparent overview of procurement activities in the procurement cockpit, which also shows all price developments and possible savings potential, also allows the sales department to directly calculate price increases for preliminary products. In addition, ME can use the Analytics module as a basis for planning to uncover fluctuating delivery times and unnoticed deviations and improve them in a targeted manner.

‍

Furthermore, with Tacto, ME was able to significantly improve supplier management as well as supplier relations. For example, buyers can send requests to suppliers with digital forms at the click of a mouse. On the one hand, this makes it possible to invite new suppliers directly via Tacto and to handle the onboarding processes, including supplier self-disclosure, agreements and documents such as ISO certifications. In addition, long-term supplier declarations (LLEs) and essential information on the REACH regulation can be obtained from suppliers and the supplier portfolio can be sustainably aligned and further developed. Mail ping-pong and time-consuming back and forth with suppliers are now history.

‍

"With Tacto, we have a scalable solution that goes hand-in-hand with our procurement processes and grows with us as a fast-growing medium-sized industrial company. This allows us to say goodbye to error-prone Excel evaluations and lift the company into digitalization. Tacto simply covers all the processes for which we were looking for a solution.Β 

‍

‍

3 successes with Tacto:

‍

‍

With transparency over supplier data and procurement activities, ME was able to reduce preparation time for supplier negotiations by up to 50%.Β 

‍

‍

‍

Manual processes such as supplier requests, document management, and supplier onboarding processes in supplier management can be structured and automated, resulting in time savings of up to 50%.

‍

‍

‍

The interaction of process and data world enables the strengthening of strategic procurement as well as a targeted control of the procurement department

‍

‍

‍

What does ME particularly appreciate about Tacto?

‍

"On a personal level, we particularly appreciate the partnership-based collaboration as well as the agility and willingness to respond to our needs. At Tacto, individual customer needs are addressed and we have the opportunity to help shape the product with our ideas and feedback."

‍

--

‍

Many thanks to Robin and the entire Mobil Elektronik team for our partnership and trustworthy collaboration. Especially the collaboration in the context of webinars or events of the BME gives us great pleasure! Congratulations again on winning the BME Procurement Excellence Award for medium-sized industrial companies with Tacto as an example of successful digitalization in procurement.

‍

Through customers and partners like you, it is possible to further develop our product in close exchange and close to the daily business, with the goal of making procurement organizations future-proof. We are already looking forward to further cooperation with you!

‍

Related articles

Jetzt WebinarAUFNAHME ANSEHEN:
Digitaler Einkauf im Mittelstand: Best Practices vom BME Procurement Excellence Award Gewinner Mobil Elektronik

Zukunftssicherer Einkauf durch datengetriebene Entscheidungen und Automatisierung manueller Aufgaben

veröffentlicht am
24.10.2022

ME MOBIL ELEKTRONIK GMBH

🏗  Industrie:                          Entwicklung und Produktion von komplexen Steuerungs- und Lenksysteme für mobile Maschinen, Nutz- und Spezialfahrzeuge

🗺  Unternehmenssitz:         Langenbrettach (Baden-Württemberg)

🧍  Mitarbeiter:                      ~ 130

👥  Mitarbeiter im Einkauf:   5 Teilzeitmitarbeiterinnen

💶  Umsatz                                   ~ 25 Mio. € pro Jahr

🧰  Einkaufsvolumen:            ~ 10 Mio. € im Jahr

ME MOBIL ELEKTRONIK GMBH, kurz ME, ist ein international agierendes Hightech Unternehmen im Familienbesitz und entwickelt sowie produziert seit 1972 komplexe Steuerungssysteme für namhafte Hersteller von mobilen Maschinen, Nutz- und Spezialfahrzeugen. Seither setzt ME durch Innovationsfreude, Engagement und Kreativität neue Maßstäbe und ist getreu dem Motto “Steer-by-Wire” in puncto Vielfalt und Know-how Vorreiter und Weltmarktführer für elektronische Lenksysteme.

Erfolgsgeschichte herunterladen

Herausforderung:

Seit geraumer Zeit spielte das Thema Einkaufsdigitalisierung eine Rolle bei ME, sodass ME sich Anfang 2019 auf die Suche nach einer Lösung für den Einkauf gemacht hat, die einerseits alle Zahlen, Daten und Fakten transparent in einem Einkaufscockpit abbildet und andererseits langwierige strategische Prozesse sowie Abläufe verschlankt und digitalisiert. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte ME proALPHA als ERP-System in Benutzung, mit dem es lediglich möglich war, die operativen Einkaufstätigkeiten systemseitig abzuwickeln. Jedoch wurde der strategische Einkauf bislang gar nicht systemseitig unterstützt: manuelle und Excel-basierte Datenauswertungen, mühsame und MS Office-basierte Organisationsprozesse mit Lieferanten sowie aufwendige Preisauswertungen waren Teil des Tagesgeschäfts. Beispielsweise war es ME nicht möglich, zuverlässige Auswertungen zu Artikeln, Lieferanten und Warengruppen zu machen bzw. Preisentwicklungen einzusehen.

Bei fast 400 versendeten Preisanfragen im Jahr war die Konsolidierung der Angebote und die Auswertung sehr zeitaufwendig und hat das gesamte Einkaufsteam mehrere Tage im Monat gekostet. Ähnlich dazu hat ME ca. zwei bis drei Tage im Monat dafür aufgewendet, gemeinsam mit der IT, Datenexporte aus dem ERP zu generieren, die Daten aufzubereiten und mithilfe von Excel auszuwerten. Dabei war es nicht unüblich, dass Datenfehler und -inkonsistenzen aufgetreten sind und die Auswertungen permanent überprüft werden mussten und dazu nur überschaubaren Mehrwert generieren konnten. Insbesondere als vergleichsweise kleine Einkaufsorganisation, mit 10 Mio. € Einkaufsvolumen und 5 Teilzeitmitarbeiterinnen war das gesamte Lieferanten- und Dokumentenmanagement des historisch gewachsenen Lieferantenportfolios mit über 400 aktiven  Lieferanten eine nahezu nicht zu bewältigende Herausforderung. Das Vorbereiten regelmäßiger Lieferantengespräche, Einholen von Lieferantenselbstauskünften sowie die Abfrage von ISO Zertifizierungen per Mail und MS Word haben das Tagesgeschäft dominiert und ca. drei Tage pro Monat eingenommen.

Aus diesen Gründen und speziell in Zeiten von makroökonomischen Herausforderungen, wie Materialengpässen und steigenden Rohstoffpreisen, war der Wunsch nach einer systemseitigen Unterstützung im Einkauf groß. Jedoch hat sich die Suche nach einer Einkaufssoftware an vielen Stellen als enttäuschend dargestellt, geprägt von langwierigen und kostspieligen Implementierungsprozessen sowie einem begrenzten Mehrwert. Häufig handelte es sich um Insellösungen, die das Bedürfnis nach einer Software, die Prozess- sowie Datenwelt miteinander vereint, nur teilweise bedienen konnten. Oftmals konnten nach der initialen Implementierung einerseits lediglich graduelle Verbesserungen erzielt werden und andererseits waren häufig weitere Anpassungen mit Unterstützung der IT nötig. Auch Mitarbeiter haben sich mit den möglichen Alternativen schwergetan und haben sich nach einer intuitiven und anwenderfreundlichen Lösung gesehnt, um Preis- und Datenauswertungen durchzuführen. Beispielsweise hat die Bedienung des unternehmensweiten Datenauswertungstools umfangreiche und intensive Programmierkenntnisse erfordert, welche nicht nebenbei erlernt werden konnten.

Insbesondere als wachsendes, kleines mittelständisches Unternehmen und Vorreiter für elektronische Lenksysteme hatte ME keine Zeit für solch ressourcenintensive und langwierige Implementierungen.

Kurzum: Die Bedürfnisse eines KMUs wurden von den etablierten Softwareanbietern unzureichend abgedeckt. Anders bei Tacto.

3 Bedürfnisse bzw. Herausforderungen, die ME bewältigen wollte

Daten- und Ausgabetransparenz über Beschaffungsaktivitäten schaffen - ohne IT-Ressourcen sowie Excel-basierte und fehleranfällige Datenauswertungen

Manuelle, operative Tätigkeiten im Einkauf automatisieren: Von Lieferantenonboarding über Dokumentemanagement bis hin zu Compliance Abfragen (REACH)

Systemseitige Unterstützung, maßgeschneidert auf die Bedürfnisse eines KMU, die Daten- und Prozesswelt miteinander vereint

Lösung

In dem Urwald an Lösungen ist ME letztendlich durch die Weiterempfehlung von HUBTEX auf Tacto - die Einkaufssoftware für den industriellen Mittelstand - aufmerksam geworden. Die positiven Erfahrungen sowie die ersten Einblicke haben ME schnell überzeugt, dass Tacto die Lösung für Digitalisierung sowie Vereinheitlichung der Daten- und Prozesswelt im KMU-Einkauf ist.

“Insbesondere die Philosophie und Herangehensweise von Tacto, nah am Tagesgeschehen und im engen Austausch mit EinkäuferInnen aus dem Mittelstand die Software weiterzuentwickeln hat uns begeistert. Die Möglichkeit in einer Art Co-Innovation die Software als Kunde mitzugestalten ist einzigartig.”

Innerhalb kürzester Zeit nach Kontaktaufnahme und nur zwei Wochen nach Bereitstellung der Daten aus dem ERP, konnte ME Preisentwicklungen und Lieferzeiten im Einkaufscockpit transparent nachvollziehen. Im Tagesgeschäft konnte Tacto schnell Mehrwert stiften und relevante Prozesse digitalisieren, da die Software genau auf die Bedürfnisse des KMU-Einkaufs maßgeschneidert ist und Hand-in-Hand mit ME’s Einkaufsprozessen funktioniert.

„Besonders beeindruckt hat uns dabei die schnelle und unkomplizierte Implementierung sowie die Mitnahme der Mitarbeiter von Tag 1. Mitarbeiter fragen proaktiv nach Zugang zu der Software und sind überaus zufrieden mit der Bedienung.“

Vor allem durch die intuitive Bedienbarkeit, ist Tacto im Tagesgeschäft der MitarbeiterInnen zu einem geschätzten Tool geworden, da es die passenden Auswertungen liefert und so Komplexität im Einkauf reduziert. Ressourcen, die für manuelle Auswertungen aufgewendet worden wären, lassen sich nun für den strategischen Einkauf einsetzen, wodurch Maßnahmen gesetzt und fundierte Entscheidungen getroffen werden können. Beispielsweise ist die Vorbereitung auf Lieferantengespräche leichter, da unter anderem Entwicklungen bei Lieferanten, Lieferzeiten, Materialien und Warengruppen direkt nachvollzogen werden können. Durch die transparente Übersicht der Beschaffungsaktivitäten im Einkaufscockpit, mitunter alle Preisentwicklungen und mögliche Einsparungspotenziale aufzeigt, lassen sich auch im Vertrieb direkt Preissteigerungen für Vorprodukte berechnen. Zudem kann ME mithilfe des Analytics Modul als Planungsgrundlage schwankende Lieferzeiten und unbemerkte Abweichungen aufdecken und gezielt verbessern.

Darüber hinaus war es ME mit Tacto möglich, das Lieferantenmanagement sowie die Lieferantenbeziehungen erheblich zu verbessern. Beispielsweise können die EinkäuferInnen per Mausklick Anfragen mit digitalen Formularen an Lieferanten versenden. Zum einen ist es dadurch möglich neue Lieferanten direkt über Tacto einzuladen und die Onboarding-Abläufe inkl. Lieferantenselbstauskunft, Vereinbarungen und Dokumente, wie ISO-Zertifizierungen, abzuwickeln. Ebenfalls können dadurch Lieferantenlangzeiterklärungen (LLEs) und essenzielle Informationen zur REACH Verordnung von Lieferanten eingeholt werden und das Lieferantenportfolio nachhaltig ausgerichtet und weiterentwickelt werden. Mail Pingpong und zeitaufwendiges hin und her mit den Lieferanten ist damit Geschichte.

„Mit Tacto haben wir eine skalierbare Lösung, die Hand-in-Hand mit unseren Einkaufsprozessen geht sowie mit uns, als stark wachsendem KMU, mitwächst. Dadurch ist es uns möglich, uns von fehleranfälligen Excel-Auswertungen zu verabschieden, und das Unternehmen in die Digitalisierung zu heben. Tacto deckt einfach alle Prozesse ab, für die wir eine Lösung gesucht haben. 

3 Erfolge mit Tacto:

Mit der Transparenz über Lieferantendaten und Beschaffungsaktivitäten konnte ME die Vorbereitungszeit auf Lieferantengespräche um bis zu 50 % reduzieren 

Manuelle Prozesse, wie Lieferantenabfragen, Dokumentemanagement und Onboarding Prozesse in der Lieferantenverwaltung lassen sich strukturieren sowie automatisieren und führten zu einer Zeitersparnis von bis zu 50 %

Das Zusammenspiel aus Prozess- und Datenwelt ermöglicht die Stärkung des strategischen Einkaufs sowie eine gezielte Steuerung der Einkaufsabteilung

Was schätzt ME besonders an Tacto?

„Auf persönlicher Ebene schätzen wir besonders die partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit sowie die Agilität und Bereitschaft auf Bedürfnisse von uns einzugehen. Bei Tacto wird auf die individuellen Kundenbedürfnisse eingegangen und wir haben die Möglichkeit, mit unseren Ideen und unserem Feedback das Produkt mitgestalten zu können.“

--

Vielen Dank an Robin und das gesamte Team von Mobil Elektronik für unsere partnerschaftliche und vertrauenswürdige Zusammenarbeit. Insbesondere die Kollaboration im Rahmen von Webinaren oder Veranstaltungen des BME bereitet uns große Freude! Herzlichen Glückwunsch auch nochmal zum Gewinn des BME Procurement Excellence Award für KMUs mit Tacto als Beispiel für erfolgreiche Digitalisierung im Einkauf.

Durch Kunden und Partner wie euch, ist es möglich unser Produkt im engen Austausch und nah am Tagesgeschehen immer weiterzuentwickeln, mit dem Ziel Einkaufsorganisationen zukunftssicher zu gestalten. Wir freuen uns schon auf die weitere Zusammenarbeit mit euch!

Ähnliche Beiträge