Register now for the next webinar (26.06.):
Revolution of the purchasing department at DOYMA

Tacto medium-sized industrial company survey on commodity price development: The situation remains tense!

published on
30.11.2023
  • For the first time, the Munich-based procurement software company Tacto is conducting an industry survey on the impact of commodity price developments on medium-sized manufacturing companies. 

  • The survey with procurement directors and procurement managers of leading industrial companies shows that the situation has only eased to a limited extent for many medium-sized companies - many expect the situation to deteriorate further in the next 6-8 months.

  • When it comes to reacting to price increases, the room for maneuver of medium-sized companies is often limited. In addition to passing on price increases to customers, many companies try to limit the effects primarily through price clauses or index-based pricing.

Download report

Munich, 04.10.2022

The Munich-based procurement software company Tacto presented its first comprehensive medium-sized business survey in September of this year. In August and September, procurement managers from the DACH region were asked about their assessment of the current situationon the commodities market. In addition to information on how the situation is being handled, the focus was also on questions about expected future price developments. 

"Many of our customers and partners were still looking forward to an easing of the situation in the middle of the year and hoping for an end to the price rally," says Johannes Groll, Managing Director of Tacto. "However, especially with the increasing energy problems and the structural supply difficulties in the areas of mechanical engineering and electronic parts, the situation is still difficult and could worsen. This usually makes itself felt very quickly and clearly in the procurement departments."

83% of those surveyed said they had to deal with material bottlenecks and increased prices in their day-to-day business, with as many as 30% of them saying they had a raw material in their range that was not available. A large proportion of the procurement managers surveyed came from the mechanical and plant engineering sector and the procurement of electronic parts. 

The survey also asked how medium-sized procurement departments deal with the increased prices. A large proportion of respondents (77%) stated that the higher costs are mostly passed on to customers. 60% also rely on index-based pricing or price clauses that take the price of raw materials into account. In contrast, few consider using digital support: just 25% said they rely on digital tools to manage their procurement activity. 

"Industrial medium-sized companies are in a persistently difficult situation: on the one hand, the scope for negotiation with suppliers is smaller than for large industrial companies when prices are rising, and on the other hand, it is still difficult for many procurement managers to find suitable specialists. This often leaves no time for a detailed breakdown of the cost structure of products by raw material content," says Johannes Groll. "That's why it's especially important now to take full advantage of the opportunities offered by digitalization, to create free space for strategic activities, and thus to position themselves in the best possible way for the ongoing difficult situation. The digital tools for automatic analysis and control of procurement activities are there. Now it's a matter of integrating them into day-to-day business." 

Many procurement managers still do not anticipate a complete improvement in the situation. 60% of respondents rate the outlook for the coming months as "rather poor" or even "very poor". This is mainly due to rising energy prices and associated price increases and potential material shortages, which are perceived as a business-critical factor across all industries. In general, however, those responsible for procurement in the mechanical engineering and electronics manufacturing sectors are somewhat more confident about the winter period, as there are signs of an easing in the procurement markets for primary materials such as steel, aluminum and plastics. 

--

All materials and images are available in the online press area

Related articles

Jetzt WebinarAUFNAHME ANSEHEN:
Digitaler Einkauf im Mittelstand: Best Practices vom BME Procurement Excellence Award Gewinner Mobil Elektronik

Tacto Mittelstandsumfrage zur Rohstoffpreisentwicklung: Die Lage bleibt angespannt!

veröffentlicht am
12.10.2022
  • Das Münchner Einkaufssoftware-Unternehmen Tacto führt erstmalig eine Branchenumfrage zu den Auswirkungen der Rohstoffpreisentwicklungen auf das mittelständische produzierende Gewerbe durch. 

  • Die Umfrage mit Einkaufsleitern und Einkaufsmanagern führender Industrieunternehmen zeigt auf, dass sich für viele mittelständische Unternehmen die Lage nur bedingt entspannt hat - es gehen viele von einer weiteren Verschlechterung der Situation in den nächsten 6-8 Monaten aus.

  • Bei der Reaktion auf die Preissteigerungen ist der Handlungsspielraum mittelständischer Unternehmen oftmals begrenzt. Neben Weitergabe der Preissteigerungen an Kunden, versuchen viele Unternehmen die Auswirkungen vor allem durch Preisklauseln oder indexbasiertes Pricing zu beschränken.

Report herunterladen

München, 04.10.2022

Das in München ansässige Einkaufssoftware-Unternehmen Tacto hat im September dieses Jahres seine erste umfassende Mittelstandumfrage vorgestellt. Befragt wurden im Zeitraum August und September Einkaufsverantwortliche aus dem DACH-Raum, zu ihrer Einschätzung der aktuellen Situation am Rohstoffmarkt. Neben Angaben zum Umgang mit der Situation standen vor allem auch Fragen zu den erwartenden zukünftigen Preisentwicklungen im Vordergrund. 

“Viele unserer Kunden und Partner hatten Mitte des Jahres noch einer Entspannung der Lage entgegengesehen und sich ein Ende der Preisrallye erhofft,” sagt Johannes Groll, Geschäftsführer von Tacto. “Gerade aber mit der zunehmenden Energieproblematik und den strukturellen Lieferschwierigkeiten in den Bereichen Maschinenbau und Elektronikteile, ist die Lage nach wie vor schwierig und könnte sich weiter zuspitzen. Das macht sich in den Einkaufsabteilungen meist sehr schnell und deutlich bemerkbar.”

83 % der Befragten gaben an, in ihrem Tagesgeschäft mit Materialengpässen und gestiegenen Preisen zu tun zu haben, davon sagten sogar 30 %, dass sie einen Rohstoff im Sortiment haben, der nicht lieferbar ist. Ein Großteil der befragten Einkaufsverantwortlichen kam aus dem Bereich Maschinen- und Anlagenbau sowie der Beschaffung von Elektronikteilen. 

Gefragt wurde außerdem, wie mittelständische Einkaufsabteilungen mit den erhöhten Preisen umgehen. Ein Großteil der Befragten (77 %) gab an, dass die höheren Kosten meist an Kunden weitergereicht werden. 60 % setzen zudem auf indexbasiertes Pricing oder auf Preisklauseln, die den Rohstoffpreis berücksichtigen. Die Zuhilfenahme digitaler Unterstützung ziehen dagegen nur wenige in Betracht: gerade einmal 25 % gaben an, zur Steuerung Ihrer Einkaufsaktivität auf digitale Tools zu setzen. 

“Der Mittelstand befindet sich in einer anhaltend schwerwiegenden Situation: Zum einen ist der Verhandlungsspielraum mit Zulieferern bei steigenden Preisen kleiner als bei großen Industrieunternehmen und zum anderen ist es für viele Einkaufsleiter nach wie vor schwierig, geeignete Fachkräfte zu finden. Für eine detaillierte Aufschlüsselung der Kostenstruktur der Produkte nach Rohstoffgehalt bleibt dabei oft keine Zeit,” sagt Johannes Groll. “Deswegen gilt es gerade jetzt, die Möglichkeiten der Digitalisierung voll auszunutzen, Freiraum für strategische Tätigkeiten zu schaffen und sich damit für die anhaltend schwierige Situation bestmöglich aufzustellen. Die digitalen Tools zur automatischen Analyse und Steuerung des Einkaufsgeschehens sind da. Jetzt gilt es, diese ins Tagesgeschäft zu integrieren.” 

Einer vollständigen Verbesserung der Situation sehen viele Einkaufsmanager nach wie vor nicht entgegen. 60 % der Befragten bewerten den Ausblick auf die nächsten Monate als “eher schlecht” oder sogar “sehr schlecht”. Dies ist vor allem auf steigende Energiepreise und damit verbundene Preiserhöhungen und potenzielle Materialknappheiten zurückzuführen, die über alle Branchen hinweg als geschäftskritischer Faktor wahrgenommen werden. Im Allgemeinen schauen die Einkaufsverantwortlichen aus den Branchen Maschinenbau und Elektronikherstellung dennoch etwas zuversichtlicher in die Winterzeit, da sich gerade an den Beschaffungsmärkten für primäre Werkstoffe wie Stahl, Aluminium sowie Kunststoffe eine Entspannung andeutet. 

--

Alle Materialien und Bilder sind in im Online-Pressebereich zu finden

Ähnliche Beiträge